File 03 Specs · 0–60 · trims

Tesla Roadster specs & performance

The new Roadster trades the 2017 car's 620-mile range for something stranger: fan suction, compressed-air thrusters and a sub-one-second 0–60 claim. Here is every number Tesla gave, and how solid each one is.

Updated 6 min read14 sources

The Roadster lifting off the ground on two downward thruster jets
In profile, lifting off on its underside thrustersImage: Tesla
0–60 mph on stage0.81sThrusters on, Tesla's timer
Top speed230+mphRocket, claimed by Tesla
Peak power≈1MW≈1,341 hp by conversion
Range300+miTesla's figure, no test cycle given

01 Acceleration

Tesla Roadster 0–60: 0.81 seconds?

Live run · actual speed
The 0.81-second run, loopedVideo: Tesla

In the live run the Roadster hit 60 mph in 0.81 seconds on Tesla's own timer, with its thrusters firing. That would make it the quickest-accelerating production car ever by a wide margin — if production cars match it.

Tesla's per-version claims:

  • Performance (no thrusters): under 1.6 s
  • Thrust (rear thrusters): under 0.9 s — Tesla executives quoted 0.85 s
  • Rocket (ten thrusters): under 0.59 s

Caveats matter here. Earlier in the show Tesla played a recorded thruster run of about one second, and the live attempt followed some timer trouble. Electrek's frame-by-frame look found the thrusters spun up before the car started to move, and Tesla's own clip of the run quotes 0.67 s once rollout is subtracted. Without thrusters, the Performance figure is the one comparable to other road cars.

02 Design

The new Roadster from every side

A clean break from the curvy 2017 prototype: a sharp-edged two-seater that Tesla says was inspired by the SR-71 and F-35, with the aero hardware hidden in the body until Track Mode calls for it. These are frames from Tesla's demo footage.

03 Versions

Performance vs Thrust vs Rocket

Three configurations share the same body, battery and fan system. What changes is how much compressed-gas hardware is bolted in, and how many seats are left. Some outlets also report a cheaper base model, but it is unconfirmed and not offered for reservation.

01 · RoadReservations open

Performance

0–60 mph
< 1.6 s
Top speed
210 mph
Seats
2
Thrusters
None
Reservation
$50,000
  • Multi-mode fan and ground-sealing suction system
  • Active aero: front wings, rear wing, vent hood
  • The road-going Roadster

02 · TrackLimited release

Thrust

0–60 mph
< 0.9 s
Top speed
230+ mph
Seats
2
Thrusters
Rear cold-gas
Reservation
$250,000
  • Everything in Performance
  • Rear cold-gas thrusters for launches
  • ~200 L compressed-air tank behind the seats

03 · FlightInvite only

Rocket

0–60 mph
< 0.59 s
Top speed
230+ mph
Seats
1
Thrusters
10 cold-gas
Reservation
By invitation
  • Thrusters at the rear, underside and nose for lift and rotation
  • Extra ~400 L tank where the passenger seat would be
  • Not approved for public roads
Tesla Roadster trims compared · claims as of October 2026
SpecPerformanceThrustRocket
Tesla's descriptionRoad readyRace readyAir ready
0–60 mphUnder 1.6 sUnder 0.9 s (0.85 s quoted)Under 0.59 s
Top speed210 mph (reported)230 mph230+ mph
Seats221
Fan suction systemYesYesYes
Cold-gas thrustersNoneRear10 (rear, underside, nose)
Gas tanks—~200 L tank behind the seats~600 L (adds a 400 L tank)
Road useRoad carNot statedNot approved for public road use
AvailabilityBy reservationLimited releaseInvite only; not in all regions
Reservation$50,000$250,000—

04 Full spec sheet

Power, range, battery and charging

Tesla did not publish a complete spec sheet at the reveal. These figures were shown on stage, given to reporters by Tesla staff, or listed on the reservation page.
All versions · source status noted per line
SpecValueStatus
DriveRear-wheel drive with two motors and torque vectoringConfirmed
Peak power1 MW (≈1,341 hp) for battery and drive unit, “one third more power than Model S Plaid,” per a Tesla display; InsideEVs puts the base version at 800+ kWClaimed
WeightAbout 3,700 lb (≈1,700 kg target)Reported
Range300+ miles per Tesla; InsideEVs reports around 310–320 milesClaimed
BatteryCapacity not disclosed (MotorTrend: “substantially more than 100 kWh”; Not a Tesla App: ~150 kWh, 4680 cells); 800–1,000 VUnconfirmed
ChargingAbout 10 minutes for 15–80/85% (outlets differ); InsideEVs cites a 500 kW maximum from V4 SuperchargersClaimed
DownforceMulti-mode fan and ground-sealing system, up to 2 g; enough to hold the car upside down even when stationaryDemonstrated
ThrustersUp to 10 cold-gas nozzles; four rear thrusters give a claimed 80 kN; one charge lasts roughly 5–6 seconds, refill takes hoursReported
Active aeroHidden front wing, rear wing, pop-out barge boards and hood vent, driven by Optimus actuators; Track Mode aero load up to “Max Grip”Shown
InteriorTwo seats molded into the chassis, steer-by-wire yoke, center touchscreen plus two smaller forward displaysShown
Production2028 in Texas (target)Claimed

05 Speed & power

Top speed and one megawatt

Tesla quotes over 230 mph for the Rocket. Electrek puts the Thrust version at 230 mph and Performance at 210 mph, and doubts the thrusters help much at the top end — cold-gas jets are strongest for short bursts, not sustained pushing. Musk wants far more: on stage he said “you've got to crack halfway to the speed of sound,” about 383 mph.

A Tesla display at the event claimed 1 MW for the battery and drive unit together — “one third more power than Model S Plaid — with half the mass.” That converts to about 1,341 hp. InsideEVs reports the base version at over 800 kW, so the full megawatt may be reserved for the faster versions.

Surprisingly, every version is rear-wheel drive, with two rear motors doing torque vectoring — a notable change from the three-motor all-wheel drive promised in 2017.

06 Promise vs reality

2017 Roadster promise vs 2026 reveal

Acceleration got dramatically better. Range, top speed and the back seats did not survive.
Next-generation Roadster · November 2017 vs October 2026
Spec2017 promise2026 reveal
0–60 mph1.9 s0.81 s on stage (thrusters on)
Top speed250+ mph230+ mph
Range620 miles300+ miles
Battery200 kWhNot disclosed
DriveThree motors, AWDTwo motors, rear-wheel drive
Seats2+22 (Rocket: 1)
Flight hardware“SpaceX package” idea (2018)Up to 10 cold-gas thrusters
Base price$200,000Not announced
Production20202028 (target)

More on the delays in the Roadster timeline, and on what it will cost on the price page.

07 Quick answers

Specs FAQ

What is the Tesla Roadster's 0–60 time?

In the live run the car hit 60 mph in 0.81 seconds on Tesla's own timer, with thrusters firing; Tesla's own clip of it quotes 0.67 seconds with rollout subtracted. Tesla's claims by version are under 1.6 seconds for Performance, under 0.9 seconds for Thrust and under 0.59 seconds for Rocket. None of these has been independently tested.

Full specs →

What is the Tesla Roadster's top speed?

Tesla quotes over 230 mph for the Rocket version. Electrek reports 230 mph for Thrust and 210 mph for Performance. The 2017 Roadster promised more than 250 mph, though Musk said on stage he wants to “crack halfway to the speed of sound,” about 383 mph.

Speed and power figures →

What is the new Tesla Roadster's range?

Tesla quotes more than 300 miles. InsideEVs reports around 310–320 miles on a full charge. The 620-mile figure from 2017 no longer applies.

How many seats does the Roadster have?

Performance and Thrust are two-seaters. Rocket is a single-seater because an extra compressed-air tank takes the passenger's place. The 2017 concept was a 2+2.

How many thrusters does the Roadster have?

Tesla's engineering chief Lars Moravy said the system uses ten thrusters fed by 600 liters of compressed air. Reports describe four at the rear, four pointing down near the wheels for lift and two at the nose firing sideways for yaw control. The Thrust version has rear thrusters only; the full set is on Rocket.